In the 100 Days of Running data submission system, we require participants to submit a public GPS activity link in case the data they are submitting is for a distance which exceeds a certain number of kms, as per rules. So what is it? Let us try to clarify this since for participants it is essential to know that, and avoid any heartburn and confusion later during the event.
We have the following definition of a “public GPS activity link”:
- It must have ‘pace’ information for the run
- It must have run ‘distance’
- Km/mile ‘splits’ must be available
- Activity link data should be publicly visible to everyone, i.e. it should not be private.
Example of a valid GPS public activity link:
See this Strava link: https://www.strava.com/activities/2099459999
If you click on the above link, whether you have a Strava account or not, or whether you you are logged in to any Strava account or not, all the required information is visible publicly, as shown in the below image. You can also see all the required info like pace, distance, time and km or mile splits:
Example of a invalid link which is not a GPS public activity link:
See this RunKeeper link:
If you click on the above link, if you are not logged into Runkeeper, you will see the following information which does not have the required pace and splits, something which we consider essential to validating the authenticity of the run.
What will the organizing team do when notified of such invalid data submission:
The team will take suitable action as it deems necessary. For participants who are on the top of leaderboards for their respective city, group, company, etc, the action may include removing those runs, or even removing the user from the leaderboard or the event. For participants who do not have similar high profile visibility and may have only infrequent violations, the actions may be lighter in nature. The organizing team will reserve the right on deciding the suitable action.
To know more read our review article on the popular GPS running apps. Do note that the article might be outdated if something is changed at the backend by the app publishers, so it is participant’s own responsibility to verify that the link they are submitting has the required details and which are visible when you are logged out of your app account for the same link.